Graduate Student Achievements

The College of Engineering is proud of its students who show they are the “Leaders and Best!” This page is dedicated to those graduate students who have been recognized for their achievements. We would like to showcase the achievements of all students who have received recognition for their work, so if you have been recognized (and are not already listed below), please let us know by sending email to


AIAA Best Student Paper Award

Prashin Sharma, Aero

Professor Pierre T. Kabama Award for excellence in control systems

Dominic Liao-McPherson, Aero

SPIE 2019 Bioinspiration, Biomimetics, and Bioreplication Best Student Paper Award

Mohammad Kazemi, Aero

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Aviation’s MDO Student Paper Competition

1st place: Anil , Aero  

2nd place: Sicheng He, Aero

Beyster Fellowship Recipients

Vyas Ramasubramani, ChE

James Dallas, ME

Shreyas Kousik, ME

U.S. DOT and NOCoE Transportation Technology Tournament Winners

Xiatong Sun, CEE

Yan Zhao, ME

Alex Sundt, CEE 

American Associate of Geographers (AAG) J. X. Kasperson Student Paper Award

Tom Logan, IOE

NASA Earth and Space Science Fellowship

David Chen, EE

Best Poster award from the Society for Risk Analysis

Elnaz Kabir, IOE

Past Student Achievements